The War of 1812:

The War of 1812 (1812-1815) was a military conflict fought between the forces of the United States of America and those of the British Empire. The United States declared war in 1812 for several reasons, including trade restrictions because of Britain's ongoing war with France, impressment of American merchant sailors into the Royal Navy, British support of American Indian tribes against American expansion, and over national honour after humiliations on the high seas.

War of 1812

Date: June 18, 1812 - February 18, 1815

Location: Eastern and Central North America, Atlantic and Pacific



United States

U.S. Allies by State Indian Allies

British Empire

Commanders and Leaders

America Britain
James Madison Lord Liverpool
Henry Dearborn George Prevost
Jacob Brown Isaac Brock
Winfield Scott Roger Hale Sheaffe
Andrew Jackson Gordon Drummond
William Henry Harrison Robert Ross
William Hull Edward Pakenham
  Charles de Salaberry

More on the War of 1812:

[ Home ]